Posted in Writing and blogs

BIG UPDATE – Cricut Listened to YOU & Will Not Be Limiting Uploads!


Important news for crafters and Cricut users everywhere! ⚠ UPDATE 🚨 – We have great news for those of you who own a Cricut machine! After receiving feedback on their proposed Design Space changes, Cricut has made an update to the way they’ll manage image uploads. Changes will still be coming to Cricut’s Design Space, however current Cricut accounts with a cutting machine linked to their account before December 31, 2021 will continue to be allowed unlimited image uploads for the lifetime of their machine. Don’t already have a registered account? You’ll have until December 31st, 2021 to create one and link your machine to lock in those unlimited uploads. They have not yet released their plans for unlimited uploads for machines sold (new or used) after December 31st, but they do plan to continue to explore affordable ways to allow an unlimited number of personal image and pattern uploads. Their plans also look like they hope to include special accommodations for educators even after the deadline. For more details, head here. We are impressed with Cricut’s quick response to their community! What are your thoughts? FYI, this info we wrote about earlier today below is now expired.  If you own a Cricut machine, you know that preparing a project requires using premade patterns or uploading original designs to the company’s Design Space application. Soon, the capabilities of your device may be limited by an impending update to Cricut’s Design Space software. In the past, Cricut users have been able to upload an unlimited number of designs to the Design Space application for free. The upcoming software update (which is set to occur on an unspecified date) will limit Cricut users to just 20 free Design Space uploads per calendar month. Since projects can often require multiple uploads to complete, even casual crafters will probably reach this limit rather quickly each month. Unused uploads will not roll over to the next month, and deleting an upload you changed your mind about will not free up more uploads for you to use. If Cricut users find that they need more than 20 free uploads per month, they will have to subscribe to Cricut’s Access Standard plan for $9.99 per month (or $95.88 per year), or the Access Premium plan for $118.88 per year. Cricut users will still be able to access any of their designs that were previously uploaded to Design Space, but if you want to create anything new, there’s no getting around the use of the Design Space software. Obviously, Cricut users are not happy about these changes. When they spent anywhere from $179 to $399 for their cutting machine (not to mention all of the additional tools and materials needed for different projects), it was with the understanding that they would have unlimited uploads to use with the Design Studio software. Now the company is planning to limit the capabilities of its machines after the fact, requiring users to pay a monthly or annual fee to restore the full functionality of a product they already own. Cricut says that it will start prompting users to subscribe in Design Space between now and the time that the upload limit goes into effect. Although they haven’t revealed exactly when this change will take place, it’s expected to happen in the next few weeks. If you’d like to join your fellow Cricut users in protesting the company’s decision, you add your name to a Change.org petition here.

BIG UPDATE – Cricut Listened to YOU & Will Not Be Limiting Uploads!

Author:

I am WikdRusticDIY

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.